Stocking up

From Jesus Calling by Sarah Young. (remember, she writes as if Jesus is talking)

“I know what you need, and I have promised to provide all of that—abundantly!

Your sense of security must not rest in your possessions or in things going your way. I am training you to depend on ME alone, finding fulfillment in My Presence.

This entails being satisfied with much or with little, accepting either as My will for the moment.

Instead of grasping and controlling, you are learning to release and receive. Cultivate this receptive stance by trusting Me in every situation.”

Grasping and controlling is the way I tend to run. In this time of rising costs and an uncertain future, my instinct is to stock up. And believe me I have! Every available space including cabinets and any mouse proof container in the basement is nearly full to the brim. But as John says, “you can only stock up to last so long.” Unless, of course, you have a bunker.

Yes, I believe a certain amount of preparedness is prudent. However, at some point, preparing becomes grasping and controlling. Doncha think?

There comes a time when I must let go and let God. Give it all into His capable hands and let Him provide my needs. After all, He knows what I need better than I do!

He holds me in His hand. He is with me to the end of the age. He cares for me. He provides all my needs, now and forever.

Do I believe that or do I not?

(Wait a moment, I’ll be right back, just as soon as I go buy another package of toilet paper. LOL!)

It’s not my job to strive, to worry, to be completely prepared for all things.

It is my job only to trust Him.

Psalm 27:1-6 NLT

“The Lord is my Light and my Salvation, so why should I be afraid?

The Lord is my Fortress, protecting me in danger, so why should I tremble?

When evil people come to devour me, when my enemies and foes attack me, they will stumble and fall.

Though a mighty army surrounds me, my heart will not be afraid. Even if I am attacked, I will remain confident.

The one thing I ask of the Lord–the one thing I seek most–is to live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, delighting in the Lord’s perfections and meditating in His Temple. (being in His presence)

For He will conceal me there when troubles come. He will hide me in His sanctuary.

He will place me out of reach on a high rock.

Then I will hold my head high above my enemies who surround me.

At His Sancturary (in His presence) I will offer sacrifices with shouts of JOY and singing and praising the Lord with music.”

Sacrifices of thanksgiving and praise brings joy in all circumstances.

May be an image of animal, nature and grass

Like

Comment

Share

0 Comments

Active

About Wendy Kleker

I live in western North Dakota and love the outdoors. I walk with my two dogs nearly every day. I feel God's presence in His creation and like to write about the inspirations and lessons I learn there. I also love to capture the beauty of His creation so do a lot of nature photographing. I enjoy sharing my work.
This entry was posted in He is my refuge, He is my Rock, No Worry!, Praise, Promises, Thanksgiving, Trust God, Trusting God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stocking up

  1. kjjohnson@interbel.net says:

    Hello Wendy,

    How are you guys doing?

    Thank you for keeping me in your loop, I appreciate you

    Do you remember Burma Williams? She was integral in my growing in discernment of Godly precepts. To the point of not only knowing right from wrong, but in knowing right from almost right.

    I trust I can speak to this Jesus Calling book with you in honesty and not offend you deeply.

    Burma shared this publishing company with me, how we can run many books through their filter (there are other very good organizations doing similar work, Michelle Lesley for example would give you much the same feedback).

    https://www.lighthousetrailsresearch.com/blog/?p=31015

    Having come out of the darkness of New Age thinking praise God!, I sense many things that have crept into our evangelical circles and churches, and God has allowed me to use my past experiences to help discern for today.

    My sister also uses jesus calling as a bible study and is pretty sensitive to my asking her about it. That’s another indicator of a problem when someone is unwilling to look into something they have believed and trusted for a long while. I pray for an opportunity to share this same information with her and have it not deeply offend, but rather bring a sense of clarity and trusting in Gods Word alone.

    Anyway, having seen and almost having been involved in channeling (Praise God He never allowed me to be used by a dark spirit in this way) it gives me the greatest concern re Sarah Youngs channeling of “jesus” for her book. A predecessor wrote “god” calling and Sarah used a similar method. I abhor such a thing.

    I’m sorry to finally be writing to you, and that this is a call for discernment for you as a sister in Christ. Had I been keeping up with our friendship in more ways that this I would be feeling better. I think it just feels like you and I have experienced some of the same grief and that I know we are always there for one another.

    Respectfully and in His love,

    Kathleen

    • Wendy Kleker says:

      Kathleen, I don’t quite understand what you are saying about channeling. Can you write me on messenger and explain more. I just use this book as a reading, not a Bible study. I realize its a person’s idea not the word of God. I like her ideas and the approach to our relationship with Jesus. I don’t agree with some of the ideas she presents. Anyway I would l like hear more of your ideas on this so write on messenger. Thanks for your comment.

  2. karanoel says:

    You are speaking right to my heart and all the ways I’ve been seeing my attempts to control out of fear instead of receiving God’s love and provision. Such a good word!

Leave a comment